Back to the calendar
Dec
8
Three Trolls Under the Bridge: Adverse Childhood Experiences and The Brain

10:00–11:00am HI

11:00-12:00pm AK
12:00-1:00pm PT
1:00–2:00pm MT
2:00–3:00pm CT
3:00–4:00pm ET

We have an opioid epidemic that’s been raging for decades. Before we can truly address it, we need to start at the beginning and understand what experiences, behaviors and habits lead to urges and cravings, which can lead to the habits and behaviors of addiction. How do adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) figure into the way our brains are wired? We have a misunderstanding and denial of what ACEs and addiction are and how they fit together. In this webinar, we will wind our way through habits, behaviors, and chemical changes to understanding.

Learning Objectives

  • Adverse Childhood Experiences and how they can develop into addiction and other problems.
  • Addiction as a chronic condition that requires life-long management due to changes in the brain.
  • Systematic changes needed to increase knowledge of ACEs and use of evidence-based practices.

Presenter: R. Jeffrey Goldsmith, MD, DLFPAPA, DFASAM

Dr. Goldsmith is a board-certified addiction medicine subspecialist. He was president of the American Society of Addiction Medicine from 2015–2017, ran the addiction fellowships at the Cincinnati VA Medical Center, and was professor of clinical psychiatry for the College of Medicine. Dr. Goldsmith was a co-investigator in the Clinical Trials Network from 1995–2008.

Register Here.

Date
December 08
Time
2:00pm - 3:00pm